View PDF version


May 22 – June 15, 2014

New York, NY, April 28, 2014 – The American Academy of Arts and Letters is pleased to announce its exhibition of paintings, sculpture, works on paper, video, and photographs; architectural models and renderings; and original manuscripts by newly elected members and recipients of honors and awards. Works will be on view from May 22 through June 15, at the Academy galleries located on historic Audubon Terrace.

Henry N. Cobb Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, Palazzo Lombardia, Milan 2013. Photograph by Fernando Guerra.

Bill Jensen BOOK OF CH-U 2011-2012 Oil on linen, diptych. Courtesy of the artist and Cheim & Read, NY.

Ann Hamilton Ledger 2008 Pigment print on silk tissue, mounted on cotton cloth. Courtesy of the artist.

From left to right:
Abbie Miller SubRosa 2012 Dress form, thread, vinyl, zipper, wood. 2014 Hassam, Speicher, Betts and Symons Fund Purchase.
Robert Adams Abandoned windbreaks, west of Fontana, California 1983 Gelatin silver print. Courtesy of the artist, Matthew Marks Gallery and Fraenkel Gallery.

Sarah Walker Continental Drift, 2010 Acrylic on panel. Courtesy of the artist; Pierogi Gallery, NY; and Gregory Lind Gallery, San Francisco.
Kurt Knobelsdorf Woman Before House (Recurring Dream), 2010 Oil on panel laid down. Gallery Schlesinger, NY.

Stephen Lorber Brownell Corners Road, White Creek, NY 2013 Archival pigment print. 2014 Hassam, Speicher, Betts and Symons Fund Purchase.
Joanne Greenbaum Untitled 2012 Oil and ink on canvas. Courtesy of the artist; Rachel Uffner Gallery, NY; and Shane Campbell Gallery, Chicago.

Paintings, sculpture, works on paper, photographs, video, architectural models and renderings by:

Newly Elected Members in Art

Robert Adams, Ann Hamilton, Bill Jensen

Architecture Award Winners

Michael Blackwood
Taryn Christoff and Martin Finio
Cynthia Davidson, Massimo Scolari
Annabelle Selldorf

Art Award Winners

Ellen Driscoll, Keltie Ferris, Bruce Gagnier
Joanne Greenbaum, Wade Guyton
Kurt Knobelsdorf, Abbie Miller, Jenny Snider
Jessica Stockholder, Sarah Walker

The Gold Medal for Architecture

Henry N. Cobb

The Award of Merit Medal for Sculpture

Donna Dennis

Art & Sculpture Purchases

Dozier Bell, Robert Birmelin, Martha Clippinger
Tom Doyle, Ellen Driscoll, Dennis Kardon
Kurt Knobelsdorf, Stephen Lorber, Abbie Miller
Kayla Mohammadi, Janice Nowinski
David Paulson, Gary Petersen, Cordy Ryman
Wade Saunders, Jenny Snider, Hasmig Vartanian
Ultra Violet, Sarah Walker

Manuscripts and personal statements by:

Newly Elected Members in Literature & Music

Wendell Berry, Ha Jin, Denis Johnson
David Lang, Alvin Singleton, Tobias Wolff

Newly Elected Foreign Honorary Members in Literature & Music

Thomas Adès, John Banville, Magnus Lindberg
Haruki Murakami, Colm Tóibín

Newly Elected American Honorary Member

Alice Waters

The Gold Medal for History

Natalie Zemon Davis

Literature Award Winners

Sherman Alexie, Don Bartlett, Emily Fragos
Manuel Gonzales, George Green, Sarah Hall
David Hinton, Rajiv Joseph, Krys Lee
Yiyun Li, James Longenbach
Daniel Mendelsohn, Liz Moore, Eric Puchner
Claudia Rankine, Alexander Stille,
Jean Valentine, Laura van den Berg
Ellen Bryant Voigt, Brenda Wineapple

Music Award Winners

Kati Agócs, Daron Hagen, Anthony Korf
Marjorie Merryman

Exhibition of Work by
Newly Elected Members and
Recipients of Honors and Awards
May 22 – June 15, 2014

Thursday through Sunday, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Closed Memorial Day Weekend (May 23-25)

On Audubon Terrace, west side of Broadway
between 155 and 156 Streets, New York City
#1 train to 157 Street and Broadway

Admission Free

Click here for more information on the Academy's location.

American Academy of Arts and Letters
The American Academy of Arts and Letters was established in 1898 to “foster, assist, and sustain an interest in literature, music, and the fine arts.” Election to the Academy is considered the highest formal recognition of artistic merit in this country. Founding members include William Merritt Chase, Kenyon Cox, Daniel Chester French, Childe Hassam, Henry James, Theodore Roosevelt, Elihu Vedder, and Woodrow Wilson. The Academy is comprised of 250 of America’s leading voices in the fields of Art, Architecture, Literature, and Music. The Academy presents exhibitions of art, architecture, and manuscripts; and readings and performances of new musicals, and is located in three landmark buildings on Audubon Terrace at 155 Street and Broadway, New York City.

Press Contact: Souhad Rafey, academy AT, (212) 368-5900.